A-maizing!

Our gardener had no clue and neither did we – but a friend, who is a senior official at one of Bahrain’s premier plant nurseries, was adamant we plant sweet corn in our little garden this summer. “Little grows in these parts this time of the year, but you’re sure to have plenty of sweet […]…

Red Riding Chick

Last week I discovered I had a five-litre ‘bag-in-a-box’ South African red wine stashed away in the ladder. It smelt all right, even for a wine novice like me – so I used it to ‘dress up’ chicken pieces in it. And nothing could be easier to cook than this. I took a kilo of…

Hot Favourite

“Aloo Paratha” – spicy mashed potato-stuffed Indian flatbread – is an all-time favourite with Indians anywhere in the world – and it’s now even caught up with others, if the numbers of such offerings globally is any indication! We make these occasionally at home – and today was one such time. No, I am not…